The Becket List: A Blackberry Farm Story

We rated this book:


The Becket List: A Blackberry Farm Story is a short but very fun story about a city girl named Rebecca Branch who is starting a new life with her family in the country.

Rebecca, her twin brother Nicholas, her older sister Caroline, her mom and dad, and their trusty dog Mr. Fancypants are moving to the country. Rebecca makes a list of how to become a country kid. First, she gives city life the official goodbye and then she decides to change her nickname to Becket!

Once they get to the country, they move in with their grandmother. Becket starts to take responsibility for all the animals and other chores on the farm. She wants to work toward the new country dog her parents are thinking of getting her. Becket also wants to make friends but soon discovers that making new friends in a new place is hard! Jealousy strikes when her younger, usually shyer, brother makes more friends than her!

This was a lovely book. The illustrations were kind of like a kid was drawing out the story while telling it. The illustrator was the same person who illustrated the Princess in Black series, which I used to like a long time ago. I would recommend this book to kids aged 8-12, and to any kids who might move to the country soon!

Reviewed By:

Author Adele Griffin
Star Count 4/5
Format Trade
Page Count 208 pages
Publisher Algonquin Young Readers
Publish Date 3/3/2020
ISBN 9781643750316
Amazon Buy this Book
Issue September 2020
Category Tweens


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Becket List: A Blackberry Farm Story”